The Agent Within

The Agent Within

“What are you doing to my garbage bin?” The accusing voice of the custodian attacked me.

I looked up.  Our eyes met.  She was angry.

“Don’t worry I do not have Ebola”, I quickly responded.  In that moment I smiled and laughed.  It was meant to calm her and affirm that “I come in peace”.

Without thinking, I spat a chewing gum into the open dust bin before me.  I was hurrying to participate in an activity and wanted to get rid of the gum quickly.

For decades, I practise disposing of gum in its wrapper or a bit of paper.  I would use anything that ensured it would not stick to a surface.  There were many times in school when gum got stuck on my clothes.  Uncaring classmates had stuck it under the desk.  I had to content with this even in University and it annoyed me.

“Bathrooms are downstairs dispose of your gum there”, she retorted.

“Thank you”.

I briskly walked away.  There was no winning this fight.  In an instance the the Holy Spirit had spoken for me.  Not only did He supply the words but He made me aware of the reason for her reaction.  It made me sensitive to her reaction and knowledgeable of how to proceed.

As I walked to the bathroom, I began reflecting on her reaction.

“What is happening Holy Spirit?”, I began to seek understanding from my friend.

“There is a secret agent within that has awaken.  Its trigger is slowly spreading.  Each news report of more people becoming infected with the Ebola virus is empowering the agent.  People will become more guarded about interacting with people.  Continued growth of the virus will result in some people wearing face masks in public.”, He responded.

I continued to reflect on what He said.  And people’s reaction to the reports about the spread of the virus.  The virus is so deadly that it can cause panic, If we do not guard our hearts.

Secret Agent Unleashed

The rise of Ebola awakens fear; the secret agent within.  It lies within each of us.  Constantly waiting to challenge us, to block us, to cripple us, to sabotage dreams, to abort visions, to kill purpose or to ruin plans.

Fear has built a graveyard populated with people from various backgrounds.  Kings have suffered at its vicious onslaught.  The poorest in the society have been wounded by it.  It has no respect for positions, wealth, status or any human conditions.

It exists for one purpose.  To carry out its mandate to attack us when we are most vulnerable.

We are building walls to keep out external attacks.  When it comes from a sleeper cell within your soul, how do you shield yourself?

The written Word of God, the Bible, in 2 Timothy 1:17 tells us that God has not given us a spirit of fear but of power, love and a sound mind.  Believers, like myself, often quote this scripture.  Oftentimes, we have stood on this word when confronted with issues.  Given the recent news and the dire warnings about the slow march of Ebola across the globe, do we dare to stand against this disease with the same grit determination?

Taking Your Stand

This is a disease you may say, isn’t the focus misplaced?  No it is not.  Fear is within to steal from us the promise of God for health and healing (John 10:10).  Jesus took all our sicknesses and diseases on Himself when He died on the cross.  Isaiah 53:4 tells us that He took on himself our griefs, sorrows, transgressions, iniquities, sickness and disease.

Every born-again believer who accepted Jesus Christ as Lord and Savior, who believes in His death and resurrection inherited this gift.  Receiving salvation released healing, health and the forgiveness of our sins (2 Cor. 5:17).  We need not cower in fear of this disease.  We must exercise our authority and stand as Sons of God (1 John 3:2, KJV).  Not just against the disease but against the agent of fear and every voice that tells us that we may become infected by it (2 Cor. 10:3-6).

Believe it and it shall be so (Mark 9:23, Mark 11:23, Hebrews 11:1, Romans 10:17).

You will also declare a thing,
And it will be established for you;
So light will shine on your ways.
                                  Job 22:28, NKJV

Leave a Reply

