God’s Got This

There were times when I would get very nervous about an expected outcome.  Not knowing what would happen gave me sleepless nights.  Throughout the night I would toss and turn.  My mind would outline a plethora of possibilities.  Each scenario would be carefully and deliberately mapped and visualized to its logical conclusion.

Back then, this was natural for me.  I was a worrier.  My modus operandi was worsened by my career choice.  It required that I grasp narrowly defined ideas and use logic to make the intangible become real. This was a major part of my duties as a computer programmer.

Now I have realized that God does not work with logic.  It is something I have struggled with.  Many times I have wrestled with grasping the mind of God.  His approach to doing things seems illogical to me.  Sometimes it is just nonsensical.  Each time my mind tries to figure how He does things I am baffled.

“For My thoughts are not your thoughts, Nor are your ways My ways,” says the Lord“For as the heavens are higher than the earth, So are My ways higher than your ways, And My thoughts than your thoughts. (Isaiah 55:8-9)

When God started taking me on wilderness experiences, sometime I would be isolated and without money.  Logic told me what I ought to be done to gain what was needed.  Do this.  Do that.  Make some calls.  Panic!  Make some calls.  Access my professional network.

I would start and almost immediately the Holy Spirit would interrupt me.  He would send me on an itinerant errand that blocked me from completing my task.  I obediently did what I was told.  However, I was nervous.

“Lord I need to get this done.  I will need money for so and so.”

“Do not worry about it”, came His calm response.  “Do what I have told you.”

My mind would wrestle with the consequences of not having the money available.  As usual, I could think of a myriad repercussions.  Every detail would be painstakingly rehearsed in my mind.

Anxiety would seize me.  Fear would grip my body.

“How can the Lord want this of me now?  He’s not even paying attention to my needs.”

“What must I do to resolve my immediate needs?”

I am used to fixing everything but God is saying, “go do what I require”.

In obedience, I sullenly, moved towards what He asked me to do.

“How could He be so insensitive to my needs.  I have my own problems to deal with.  Why must I go help someone at the time of my greatest need!”

In an instance, I am reminded of the events of John 11.  Jesus was summoned to come quickly.  Lazarus was ill and about to die.  Still He did not budge.  He hung around with his homeboys.  Days after Lazarus died he chose to go see him.  Obviously, this man was crazy!

He was not.  With everything that was done, there was a lesson that was being taught.  Jesus waited until Lazarus died to prove that He is the resurrection and the life.  He can give life to any dead thing.

25 Jesus said to her, “I am the resurrection and the life. He who believes in Me, though he may die, he shall live. (John 11:25)

Jesus raised Lazarus 4 days after he died to demonstrate that we need not be anxious for anything.  Instead of wrestling with our problems we must give it to him.  This is when we allow the concerns to die.  This is when we allow Him to be God.  When we release it, He can now resolve the problem.

28 Come to Me, all you who labor and are heavy laden, and I will give you rest.  29 Take My yoke upon you and learn from Me, for I am gentle and lowly in heart, and you will find rest for your souls. (Matthew 11:28-29)

Our Creator is the Master of time.  Everything He does is in keeping with His appointed hour.  He usually does not act at the same time but will allow it to deteriorate even further.  When it becomes a stench in our nostrils (further trouble) then he brings a resolution in a way we least expect.

Why would He do this?  He is teaching us to rest in the assurance that for every situation, “God’s got this”.

After completing the Lord’s bidding.  I would be pleasantly surprised.  What I needed would be provided.  Provisions would be made based on what I needed.  Not what I wanted.

Sometimes, I had to wait a little longer but He always delivered on His promise.

There are times when even in my need for money, clothing, etc.  He would tell me to let go of what I have.  I would be advised to make a sacrificial offering.  At all times, I would receive more than double whatever was released.  Sometimes even a hundredfold!

Whether your situation is big or small, rest.  Be assured that Jesus has already spoken life to it, even before you saw the solution.  He’s merely allowing time to catch up with His actions.  He is also using the situation to teach you care for others, faith and patience.  Everything is to build you spiritually.

He knows what we need before we even ask.  Rest in the assurance that God’s got this!

Matthew 6 (NKJV)

25 “Therefore I say to you, do not worry about your life, what you will eat or what you will drink; nor about your body, what you will put on. Is not life more than food and the body more than clothing?

26 Look at the birds of the air, for they neither sow nor reap nor gather into barns; yet your heavenly Father feeds them. Are you not of more value than they?

27 Which of you by worrying can add one cubit to his stature?

28 “So why do you worry about clothing? Consider the lilies of the field, how they grow: they neither toil nor spin;

29 and yet I say to you that even Solomon in all his glory was not arrayed like one of these.

30 Now if God so clothes the grass of the field, which today is, and tomorrow is thrown into the oven, will He not much more clothe you, O you of little faith?

31 “Therefore do not worry, saying, ‘What shall we eat?’ or ‘What shall we drink?’ or ‘What shall we wear?’

32 For after all these things the Gentiles seek. For your heavenly Father knows that you need all these things.

33 But seek first the kingdom of God and His righteousness, and all these things shall be added to you.

34 Therefore do not worry about tomorrow, for tomorrow will worry about its own things. Sufficient for the day is its own trouble.

 

 

 

 

Photo credit:
Mommy, You’re Going To Be My Wife One Day, Right?, Lotus Carroll, flickr.com

Leave a Reply

