Healing Meditation – Mark 3:14-15

I am currently in a new location. The congregation is larger than I am used to. They are good people to be around. I enjoy their company. Yet there is something that alarms me. I have never heard so many cases of sicknesses among the people of God.

I want to tell them about the healing power of God. I have witnessed it. Their doctrine does not teach it. They speak about healing but there is no faith. Speaking most likely would cause conflict. God told me only to observe. So I kept my head down and keep it moving.

I have been trying to keep my hold my piNever in my life have I heard so many cases of sicknesses. With all I have heard I have been trying to mind my own business. I have tried to ignore what I heard. The Lord told me not to reveal much about myself. I was to simply observe. Sadly, I used the opportunity to be selfish.

I know my God heals and have witnessed His healing power. I repeated it to myself several times to try and block unbelief from creeping into my spirit. I felt sorry that persons did not know Him as a healer. However, I was in someone’s house and did not want to disturb the peace.  I tried remaining quiet and mind my own business.

But the more I heard the reports, is the more I got vexed. These are great people of God and the enemy is having a field day. They were not spending enough time feeding on the Word. There was no understanding of Jesus’ desire to heal all of us. They did not understand or accept that He gave His life for us, so we may receive healing and walk in divine health (Isaiah 53:4-5). His people were perishing because of lack of knowledge (Hosea 4:6).

If the congregation was taught about God’s healing powers, hope and faith they would have seen God’s healing anointing in their midst. Instead they were slowly dying. It saddened me but I kept my head down and kept moving. Little did I know sickness would visit my doorsteps.

I begun experiencing sickness in my body. They often prayed for healing. Prayers were down weekly. Yet there was no answer from heaven. Why? There was no faith. Praying was a ritual. Just another routine.

If we believe that God does not change. Then we must accept that He power to heal is still present. We must accept and meditate on the scriptures; especially those regarding healing (Joshua 1:7-8). It will give freedom from any illness that ravages the body. It does not matter how advanced or deadly the illness may be. His power is unlimited (Psalm 103:3-4).

Now let us dive into the scripture.

Mark 3:14-15 New King James Version (NKJV)

14 Then He appointed twelve, that they might be with Him and that He might send them out to preach,

15 and to have power to heal sicknesses and to cast out demons:

There are several keys about healing that are revealed as Jesus appoints his special messengers. These are as follows:

  1. The Holy Spirit decides who will be anointed with the healing anointing. He chooses and anoints us for God’s use (1 Cor. 12:11). The level to which you flow is determined by your submission to His will. He only needs someone with an earnest desire to see people healed and delivered. I know persons who wanted the gift to be recognized by others and never moved in it. Then there are others who have messed up but God still used them to heal others. Yet the choice is not random. God will look at the heart (1 Sam. 16:7)
  2. Does my character have to be perfect before He will use me? No he will work through an imperfect vessel. Judas Iscariot was a thief (John 12:4-6). Yet he was among the twelve who were appointed. The Lord will work with the earnest desires of your heart. We are all imperfect vessels. He will work with us and carry us to spiritual maturity. At this level we are lead by the Holy Spirit. At this level we no longer struggle with the flesh. We are now an over-comer. This only allows us to flow in a greater measure of the anointing as the Holy Spirit wills it.
  3. Time in his presence is essential for you to continue operating in the anointing.  The first verse clearly states that he took them aside and appointed them “so that they might be with Him”.  Not that this was the first criteria before the appointment. You are called out and filled up before before being sent out. Walking in power requires that we spend time in the Word and His presence. This equips us to know His will.
  4. The Word ought to be preached and/or taught before healing is done. Note that preaching came before healing and casting out demons. The Word must be spoken to build hope and faith. People must know the Word before they can truly believe (Romans 10:14). The healing anointing flows after it is proceeded by the Word. The Holy Spirit and the angels will only act on the Word. Understanding the Word will help them retain what they have received (Romans 10:17; 1 Thessalonians 2:13).

Please feel free to ask any questions you may have.  See you again next week as we perform further exploration of the scriptures on healing.  Have a great day!

 

 

Original photo credit: Jeff Sheldon, Unsplash.com

Leave a Reply

