A Rolling Stone

I wonder if that adage applies today.  People are now encouraged to make necessary changes in their life when and if necessary.  The proliferation of the Internet allows persons to travel constantly while being gainfully employed.  It is expected that someone will change five or six jobs before settling on the career that will be pursued for the rest of their life.  Travelling to secure the ideal job in another country is also encouraged.  The Spencer Johnson’s bestselling book Who Moved My Cheese? made it clear that if one stays too long in one place you become stagnant and eventually die professionally.  Many very successful people are global citizens.  A great portion of their time is spent crisscrossing the globe to establish businesses, manage multinationals or close business deals; while raising their family.

Travel is a prerequisite for one to broaden the mind and give you a different view of reality.  I had friends that hated their life in Jamaica.  They would complain about everything especially, the economy.  They had achieved personal success.  They could afford the things they desired but lamented our lack of first-world public facilities and amenities.  Every day they listened and participated in the negative social commentaries about the country.  Becoming a part of the solution or finding things to be thankful for were far from their lips.  Then came the opportunity to undertake voluntary work in other parts of the world.  During the trips they came face to face with extreme poverty.  It shocked them!  What they saw was far worst than what they experienced in Jamaica.  All complains about their standard of living stopped.  They became thankful for what they had.

Sometimes for a fleeting moment I wonder what others think of me.  For the past four years the Lord has had me constantly moving.  I have not been allowed to stay for a very long period in one place.  In the early stages of my development, there were times I was told to leave somewhere because of impending spiritual attack.  I would pack up and leave abruptly.  I seldom explained why I had to leave.  There were also times I was sent to a location without knowing why.  When I reached the destination the Lord would move me to deliver a prophetic word to someone or do something else.

The casual observer may view my actions as weird or nonsensical.  Sometimes to me it is disconcerting but I have learnt to trust the Lord.  I am no longer afraid to look stupid before others.  I have also learnt to not value material things above my relationship with Him.  Each process has produced spiritual growth.  I have never been disappointed.  I now cherish seeing a life transformed, reconciled to Jesus or healed mentally, emotionally and physically by the Lord.

Like Paul I can truly say, “I have learned in whatever state I am, to be content: I know how to be abased, and I know how to abound. Everywhere and in all things I have learned both to be full and to be hungry, both to abound and to suffer need. I can do all things through Christ who strengthens me” (Phil. 4:11-13 New King James).

I have lived out of a suitcase for almost one year now and I have never been more contented in my life.  “And He said to them, Take heed and beware of covetousness, for one’s life does not consist in the abundance of the things he possesses” (Luke 12:15).  Two years ago, I made a vow to not complain for one year.  The Lord tested me every step of the way.  I lost every thing I owned.  Things got really bad at one time.  I was ready to walk away from my calling.  I told the Lord that I could not take anymore.  I quit!  That night He appeared to me in a vision and I beheld the fire of God.  He spoke sternly to me and for 2 hours after I woke I was blanketed in heat.  My body vibrated from the presence of God and its heat.  My skin felt as if it was on fire.  The fire was both inside and outside of me.  For three hours the heat was on me.  Nothing I did provided cooling.  The heat was within and without.  The experience was rough, I cried at times, many times but I am better for it.

I grew up in poverty and have worked hard from age 17 to overcome it.  Education was used as the vehicle for upward mobility.  Acquiring things became an obsession.  Relationships were put on hold.  It was low priority on my to-do list.  When I could not afford the things I wanted I withdrew from others.  I became miserable and depressed.  Friends were pushed away.  Sometimes I lashed out at them when I was in that state.  Thank God, the stripping down process delivered me from that mindset.

My contentment is no longer based on the job title or possessions.  I now rest in Him.  I look to him to provide whatever I need.  I can truly say He is El Shaddai.  I hated depending on anyone.  I feared being obligated to anyone or leaving myself open to being manipulated or controlled but God taught me to trust Him.  Now, before I need something the Lord provides it.  Oftentimes, He sends it from an unexpected source.  I have also been happy to see them rewarded for their obedience.  Some have received as much as 1000 times what was given.  There are countless times that I have received immediate returns for faithfully tithing from whatever I receive or sowing a seed of my time and money.

The Lord also taught me to accept Him at His word.  The journey has increased my faith.  I now have childlike faith.  If He says it then it is done.  Time and time again I have seen the manifestation of God’s promises not only in my life but in that of many others.  Many times He’s sent me to speak to complete strangers and I have received confirmation that what was said are answers to things spoken privately to the Lord.  On Saturday April 18, 2015 God reminded me of His promises to me.  Then each day, from Monday to Friday, He used a stranger to confirm His word.  It was not needed but He went the extra mile to show how deeply He cared.

This rolling stone has gathered many mosses.  The Lord Jesus has revealed Himself to me and taught me many lessons.  Situations and circumstances do not move me.  Most importantly He revealed to me my identity and purpose.

Was the journey worth it?  Without a doubt I can say yes.  YES!  If God calls you to walk with Him.  Please do not hesitate.  Do not be afraid to step into the unknown.  You will never regret the decision.  It will be well worth it.

Leave a Reply

