In defence of the Jet

In February 2012 I found myself criticizing Bishop TD Jakes, as I watched a sermon on YouTube.  I admired him and was thankful to God for him.  His sermon, the ‘Place of His Passion’, caused me to recommit my life to Jesus Christ; in my office on a Friday afternoon.  Every Sunday I eagerly watched his sermons online.  This time I judged his every move.  I criticized how he talked, how his fingers moved, how he breathed, etc.  Without reason, every minute detail offended me.

I was alone at home or so I thought.  In an instance, the Lord rebuked me!  “Do not speak ill of my servant.  I have raised him up and set him above nations”, thundered the angry voice of God.  It startled and frightened me.  I quickly repented.  I should have learnt my lesson but that was not the end of it.

Further Repentance

Four months later I did a similar thing.  This time I found fault with Prophetess Juanita Bynum.  I had forgotten how her testimonies had impacted my spiritual development.  After I recommitted my life to the Lord I wanted more than the worship of the Methodist Church, I attended from mid-teenage years.  I started attending a Pentecostal church.  Most members were happy that I was attending the church, until they found out I was coming from a Methodist Church.  I was repeatedly rejected.  They did not want to interact with a sinner.  I was alone with God.  The prophetic had birthed in me and there was no one to help.  I did not know how to communicate with God.  He spoke.  I never thought I could speak to Him.  I knew very little of the Bible.  I thought He was judgemental and unmerciful.  One little move and I would be toast!  Prophetess Bynum’s testimonies and teachings helped me in a big way to understand what was happening.  A few minutes after I spoke ill of her the Lord rebuked me.

“I work through imperfect vessels.  I am able to bring them to perfection”, he told me.

What was at work in me was decades of being suspicious of ‘televangelists’. Chief among them was Senior Pastor Creflo Dollar.  From the first day I heard the name, I became suspicious of the surname.  “What kind of name is that for a Pastor?”  I was convinced he was not an honourable person.

Then came a period of very unsettling dreams.  For weeks they terrified me.  Every day I prayed for release and peace of mind.  I became afraid to sleep until the Lord directed to search YouTube for one of Mr. Dollar’s teachings on spiritual warfare.  It solved the problem but my lesson was not done.  The Lord chastened me for speaking ill of him.  He told me that He taught Mr. Dollar about prosperity and told him to teach His people.

The following year the Lord had me repent for speaking ill of His ministers (televangelists) .  I was reminded of persons I had spoken ill of from I was a teenager.  Two decades ago!  I learnt that day not to speak ill about another man’s ministry.

The Lord also taught me about the pressures these men and women of God faced and why some servants failed.  Especially, how easy it was to fail.  For the first time, I understood the many traps and sneers that the minister of God had to navigate.  The road was not easy.  None were exempt from daily trials, tribulations and temptations.  Only God could keep the leader from failing.  It thought me to keep my mouth shut and not speak against another man’s ministry.

Good Gifts

When the recent report about the cost of Mr. Dollar’s plane was published, I kept my mouth shut.  I did not ask the Lord about it.  I was determined not to become distracted by the noise, until Sunday May 10, 2015.

On Friday May 8, 2015, I was walking home after completing some assignments for the Lord, when He challenged me to lift my faith.  “You can believe me to heal and fulfill my word for others.  What about you?  Can you believe me for some of the things you want?”  I asked Him for a car and left it at that.

Every time I am to receive something from God, He always asked me to give up something.  I was either told to sow a seed, make a sacrificial offering, give to someone or do something else.  On Sunday May 10, I was told to pray for Mr. Dollar to receive his new plane.  The Lord began speaking to me about the issue.

“I favour Him.  It is nothing for Me to give it to him.  I have no problem with my children being wealthy.  I will not bless them, if they are greedy or desire it for selfish reasons.  I have no problem with them being very successful or rich, as long as it does not become an idol.  What are a few millions to Me.  People approve when business leaders or entertainers purchase whatever they desire.  Why are they offended when my servants are rewarded for their work?  Why do they think that it pleases me to see my servants living in poverty and lack?”

A Blessing God

I was reminded of the people who had a close relationship with God.  He blessed every aspect of their life.  He caused every area of their lives to multiply.  Noah was wealthy.  Abraham was so blessed that the rulers of the other nations acknowledged him as a prince.  Isaac, Jacob, David and Solomon were enriched by God.  There were many others also: Joseph, Moses, Joshua, Caleb, Deborah, Samson, other Judges, Daniel, and a plethora of others throughout the Bible.  The nation of Israel was also blessed in all of their endeavours.  Lack was experienced when they drifted from God.

Some of the prophets dressed different from the people of Israel and were poor.  Even then they never lacked.  El Shaddai (Hebrew for ‘the One who mightily nourishes, satisfies, protects and supplies His people’) supplied their every need.  Their lifestyle was a testimony against the greed of the people and/or their idolatrous worship.  A prime example was Elijah.

Calling Kingdom Financiers

“I want my people to lift their faith.  Too many of my children are contented to live mediocre lives and think that it pleases me.  I desire to bless them in all areas of their lives.  Why have they hidden themselves from the world?  They should be leading the various industries.  Leaders should be in every industry.

Instead they are contented to hide.  I desire to raise up leaders in business, medicine, engineering, aerospace, television, film-making, theatre, video games and all forms of entertainment, and all industries.  Did I not command them to go into all the worlds (Mark 16:15-16)? You do not glorify me by acting small.  I commanded you to dominate, to multiply and reproduce others like you.  I commanded it at creation (Genesis 1:28).  It has not changed.

I will raise up kingdom financiers.  I will raise up billionaires and millionaires to finance the work of the kingdom.  There are many ministers who are struggling because there are not enough of my children who are willing to allow me to process them and raise them up to be industry leaders; so that the needs of my people can be met.”

I was now convinced Mr. Dollar should receive his new plane.  What happened next surprised me!

The Prayer

During the prayer, I began to prophesy of the revival that was coming to his ministry.  God would shift it to another dimension of healing and miracles.  People would pour in from the East, West, North and South to experience the presence of God.  The ministry would not be large enough to hold the people.  As persons entered the sanctuary they would be healed of all forms of sickness and disease.  Persons would be delivered of issues they have struggled with for years.  The same anointing would be present at their various locations.  I began seeing Mr. Dollar moving quickly between countries.  He was now forced to travel several times per day, on very tight schedules.  Meeting the various engagements was critical.  The necessity for the new plane was now abundantly clear to me.  God had revealed His purpose for placing the desire in the heart of His servant.

Avoid Reckless Words

It is important that we seek clarity from God before uttering a word against another man’s ministry.  Even when he or she is at fault we must be careful how we speak or act against them.  David knew this all too well and refused to kill Saul or take action against him, despite all that he did to David (1 Samuel 24; 1 Samuel 16:9-25).  When we criticize God’s servant we are also criticizing God and indirectly saying the situation is outside of His control or influence.

Words are weapons.  We must be careful how we use them.

1 Chronicles 16:22
Do not touch My anointed ones, And do My prophets no harm.

Romans 14:4
Who are you to judge another’s servant? To his own master he stands or falls. Indeed, he will be made to stand, for God is able to make him stand.

One thought on “In defence of the Jet

  1. Reblogged this on Revealing the Christian Life and commented:
    In defence of teh Jet…words of wisdom to heed.

    In February 2012 I found myself criticizing Bishop TD Jakes, as I watched a sermon on YouTube. I admired him and was thankful to God for him. His sermon, the ‘Place of His Passion’, caused me to recommit my life to Jesus Christ; in my office on a Friday afternoon. Every Sunday I eagerly watched his sermons online. This time I judged his every move. I criticized how he talked, how his fingers moved, how he breathed, etc. Without reason, every minute detail offended me.

    Like

Leave a Reply

