Prophetic Harm pt 1

In a previous article on May 5, 2015 I addressed the issue of the Prophet as God’s executioner.  In this article I will examine how the prophetic has harmed some believers.

We serve a Living God.  He desires to speak directly with ALL His children.  Jesus Christ suffered and died to grant us legal access to the presence of God.  The Holy Spirit was given to aid in the communication process; allowing us to fellowship with our Creator, once again.

Sadly, tradition and denominational practices have re-erected the veil that separates man from his Creator.  Rituals, rules, observations and deep theological studies that deny the existence of the Holy Spirit have become substitutes for relationship.

There are believers who desire to communicate with God but do not know how.  On the other hand, there are those believers that think He has no interest in the daily affairs of man.  This could not be further from the truth.  He still talks to us today and will use a prophet to confirm His rhema word.  It makes the prophetic just as important today as it did many centuries ago.

I have had cases where the Lord told me to go speak His word to a stranger.  Three months ago, I was walking home when He sent me in a Family Dollar store.  When I went into the store, He began talking to me about what He will do for the business.  Then He told me to speak with someone there.  She wept with joy to hear answers to prayers she made that morning before coming to work.  Before I concluded, I told her she prayed to God, earlier in the morning about the things I spoke.  As the tears streamed down her face she nodded in agreement.   While I spoke she kept thanking God, with a wave offering of her hands.  When I was finished speaking she said, “you have no idea how much I needed to hear that”.

In that same period, the Lord also sent me to two churches to speak to the Pastors.  I had never attended the churches before.  I knew nothing about the church.  In both instances, they said the prophetic words were answers to prayers they have been praying for a while.

The above cases are a few instances when the Lord provided a word to comfort, strengthen and edify the believer (1 Cor. 14:3).

Some persons and churches are turned off from the prophetic because they have been harmed.  Based on my experience, these are a few of the reasons people become harmed by the prophetic:

  1. They only seek God’s hand (what He gives);
  2. They do not understand that under the New Covenant (Testament) God will speak directly to every believer.
  3. Discerning someone’s motives by mere observation of their actions without relying on the Holy Spirit to inform us of the heart and intent of the individual.

Seeking His Hand

In August last year, the Lord told me to attend Sunday Morning Prayer meetings at a church.  The church has a renown Prophetess associated with it.  Each week the Pastor preached with every fiber of her being to a small number of devoted congregants.  The atmosphere was heavy with the glory of God but only a minute number of people attended.

On the seventh week, as I walked in I felt a shift in the atmosphere.  I always felt a pull from the presence of God approximately 10-15 feet away from the building.  This morning was no different but something else was mingled with it.  The air was charged with excitement.  Before I opened the door, I could feel the enthusiasm of the attendees.

As I placed my hand on the door of the Sanctuary, the Holy Spirit said very loudly and angrily, “Who did you come here to see Me or the Prophet”.  I knew instantly that the Prophetess was there and attendees packed the room.  My heart sank when I opened the door.  There was a full house!  I was happy that the Prophetess was receiving such a great welcome.  At the same time, I felt the sadness of the Holy Spirit.  Most of the attendees came to get a word from God.  Sadly, I discerned no interest in Jesus Christ.

I watched as most people jumped, ran around and danced for their breakthrough but the sadness I felt from the heart of the Holy Spirit did not leave me.

“They are hearers of my Word but not doers”, the Holy Spirit said.

In an atmosphere like this it would have been easy to tell people their heart’s desire.  She could have lied to them.  They would be unaware of whether they were being swindled.

When we seek after the prophetic in this manner it can lead to ruin.  In 1 Kings 22, King Ahab had prophets who told him what he wanted to hear.  They were treated well by the king and would give him only kind words.  When he was considering going into battle God caused the prophets to prophesy lies to him.  The prophet who spoke truthfully was abused and placed under arrest.  Before the end of the day Ahab was killed in the heat of the battle.

God is a jealous God.  He desires worship that comes from the heart.  It must be a willing act of love and surrender to His will.  Doggedly attempting to receive from Him while not being obedient to His commands can and will result in us being harmed.  What happens will be the consequences of our actions.  When we seek His face then his blessing will overtake us:

 But seek first the kingdom of God and His righteousness, and all these things shall be added to you. (Matthew 6:33)

And the Lord spoke to Moses, saying:  “Speak to Aaron and his sons, saying, ‘This is the way you shall bless the children of Israel. Say to them:

“The Lord bless you and keep you;
The Lord make His face shine upon you,
And be gracious to you;
The Lord lift up His countenance upon you,
And give you peace.”’

“So they shall put My name on the children of Israel, and I will bless them.” (Numbers 6:22-27)

One thought on “Prophetic Harm pt 1

Leave a Reply

