New Year New Life

The moment above captures myself and a colleague singing at my former  workplace’s staff retreat. We were performing Redemption Song by Bob Marley:
Old pirates, yes, they rob I;
Sold I to the merchant ships,
Minutes after they took I
From the bottomless pit.
But my hand was made strong
By the ‘and of the Almighty.
We forward in this generation
Triumphantly.Won’t you help to sing
These songs of freedom?
‘Cause all I ever have:
Redemption songs;
It was a prophetic moment that I did not understand. At the time of the retreat in December 2010, I had left the church and was outside the will of God. I was seeking for things that momentarily satisfied. Despite the smile and laughter on the outside, there was discontentment inside.
This is another lifetime, another person. Little did I know what the Lord had in store for me. The following year the Lord used my colleague in the picture to call me back into the church. I came back but everything took a drastic turn. The Lord Jesus Christ turned my world upside down. Since then the journey has been very rough, at times. There were many times I wanted to quit but I am glad I endured. Holy Spirit you constantly provided encouragement. For that I thank you. I thank you Lord for the persons that you sent periodically to mentor, pray and encourage me.
I stand amazed at Your work in me. From the day I recommitted my life to You in June 2011, Abba, I started hearing your voice clearly. You taught me how to overcome many spiritual, physical, emotional and mental obstacles. When I reflect on the numerous things that have happened I stand amazed. Sometimes I feel that I lived through the eyes of another person. Some experiences have been literally out of body. You have pulled out things in me that I never knew existed. Things that I never knew existed in the bloodline for at least four generations.
“Papa thank You!”
I anticipate the great times that are ahead for 2016. Beloved, now we are children of God; and it has not yet been revealed what we shall be, but we know that when He is revealed, we shall be like Him, for we shall see Him as He is. And everyone who has this hope in Him purifies himself, just as He is pure” (1 John 3;2-3, New King James Version)
There will be many battles, many moments of gaiety but no matter what comes I am more determined now, than ever, to walk with You. There is absolutely no looking back. New Year (2016) I embrace you with anticipation and joy. The Word of the Lord shall be established. It will be a wonderful year!
This year fades in a moment. It was indeed a year of release. All the promises you told me have manifested. I graduated from your various schools: school of the wilderness, school of frustration, school of failure, school of time and patience, school of self-will, etc. My most memorable period is the time I spent with you. It was a privilege to have spent 1 year in your Presence and being taught continually by you.
Lord I am your bondservant. Your Will shall be done on earth. I look forward to doing all you set before me. All that You ask of me I will do, without fear. I thank you for boldness and unwavering faith in You. You have proven Yourself time and time again. You have challenged every area of my life. Every fear have been eradicated. Things that I thought impossible, have been done through you. Most importantly you have thought me in this year that my contentment does not rest in anything external.  And He said to them, “Take heed and beware of covetousness, for one’s life does not consist in the abundance of the things he possesses” (Luke 12:15, New King James Version)
Abba, I thank you for the great changes that will come for 2016. No matter what comes, I shall be contented because You are at my side. You promised that You will never leave me or forsake me. That is enough. You cloth the birds of the air and the sparrow. All the hair on my head are numbered. You have me. I need not worry. “Therefore do not worry about tomorrow, for tomorrow will worry about its own things. Sufficient for the day is its own trouble” (Matthew 6:34).
My resolution for 2016 is to rest in you. To rest in faith. I shall not be moved. But like the tree planted by the rivers of water, I shall bring forth my fruits in this season (Psalm 1).  The earth shall see a greater measure of your glory that has not been witnessed for centuries. I shall do my part to raise up an army for you. An end time army. Your will must be done, Abba.
Leave a Reply

