Who Do You Serve

This morning I felt a stirring in my spirit.  I was restless.  The restlessness came from a desire to serve at a soup kitchen. Last year, when I was Atlanta Georgia, I served occasionally at Trinity Table. A soup kitchen operated by Trinity United Methodist Church. I enjoyed the experience and wanted to serve again.

I and my girlfriend had discussed this issue and made a commitment to the Lord to make this an ongoing ministry. Our church operates a pantry. This fills a gap but there was room for more work. So I googled soup kitchens near me, in New York. It showed me several. One drew my attention based on the name. I wanted to find out more about this place. I went to the website but my attention was drawn to a video on the home page.

The video promoted the Episcopal church’s participation in Gay Pride. The video showed several branches marching with banners and floats in the parade. The banners declared their welcome of the lifestyle. Members of the congregation and clergy waved flags and cheered as they moved along with the parade. In the video a muscular guy walked by dressed only in a blond wig and underwear. As he turned and went back from where he came he flipped his long blond hair.  The cameraman gave him full focus for the remaining seconds of the video.

I was shocked that this denomination had descended to such lows. There was no line of demarcation between God’s people and the world.

“Are they not aware of the spiritual impact of what they are doing?” I wondered.

Instantly, I heard this scripture in response:

“Now the Spirit expressly says that in latter times some will depart from the faith, giving heed to deceiving spirits and doctrines of demons.” (1 Timothy 4:1)

Immediately after the Holy Spirit gave me the scripture I was shown a vision of the parade. I saw the Episcopal congregation on the floats waving. When I looked at them I saw demons with them. Some stood beside them on the platforms. Others completely covered them. Some were approximately 3 feet higher than the humans. Every participant had a demon either in, with or on them.

Friends, this is no joke. Homosexuality is a sin. God does not condone the lifestyle. He desires that those engaged in it come to the truth of His word and see change in their life. I was in the lifestyle but God delivered me. Years of abuse, molestation, shame, indulging and struggling with my flesh were erased by the loving hand of Jesus Christ. After I surrendered to Him He showed me in the scriptures that it was a sin (Romans 1:24, 26-27  & 1 Corinthians 6:9-10). I asked Him to help me overcome it. He directed me daily through the scriptures for 2 years. I also coupled it with prayer, fasting and lots of time in His presence.

The Lord stretched me during fasting. I learnt to deny the flesh food and water for days and weeks. I did not pray for deliverance after the initial request for Him to help me. Each day I strengthened myself in the Word of God. Every day I yielded myself to Him. As I allowed myself to be lead by the Holy Spirit and the Word my mind was transformed. I learnt to speak the Word when lustful desires came upon me. It did not matter whether they were for the same or opposite sex. My body belongs to the Lord. It is His temple and must be kept holy unto Him . All bisexual feelings went. Every hurt and shame went. He transformed me from inside and outside. He gave me power over my flesh.

Therefore, if anyone is in Christ, he is a new creation; old things have passed away; behold, all things have become new. (1 Corinthians 5:17)

We can debate and declare that “God is Love” or “God accepts people as they are” or “God has made people this way” or “Love knows no gender” all we want. It does not change the truth of God’s Word nor does it change Him.

“Jesus Christ is the same yesterday, today, and forever” (Hebrews 13:8).

The Devil is a liar! We were created in the image and likeness of God. Lies planted in us by situations and circumstances will never shut out the truth. God created a man to desire a woman (Genesis 2:24). We may come as we are but we CANNOT stay the same. It does not matter what sin we struggle with. We must master it. We must be Holy, even as He is holy.  Without holiness no man can see God! (Hebrews 12:14)

Participation in Gay Pride by churches may recruit people but is the will of God being done? This is the response of churches that lack power. That find themselves dying because the Spirit of the Living God had left them.

Chose this day who you will serve! Come out from among them and be ye separated. The lives of these people matter. Open the doors to everyone but they must know that if you come to Jesus you cannot remain the same. Real change must occur on the inside.

1 Corinthians 6:15-20 

15 Know ye not that your bodies are the members of Christ? shall I then take the members of Christ, and make them the members of an harlot? God forbid.

16 What? know ye not that he which is joined to an harlot is one body? for two, saith he, shall be one flesh.

17 But he that is joined unto the Lord is one spirit.

18 Flee fornication. Every sin that a man doeth is without the body; but he that committeth fornication sinneth against his own body.

19 What? know ye not that your body is the temple of the Holy Ghost which is in you, which ye have of God, and ye are not your own?

20 For ye are bought with a price: therefore glorify God in your body, and in your spirit, which are God’s.

Leave a Reply

