Rahab’s Cry

She prostituted herself with many men but was not satisfied.

“I have many lovers but I am not satisfied. There must be more to life than merely getting by”, She pondered, in her heart.

To keep hope in her heart she positioned herself on the wall.

“Surely the great wall of Jericho will offer safety and comfort” she thought.

Day after day she sat on the wall, as she looked out. She had placed herself in a tower that was hard for others to reach but the isolation did not shield her from the sense of hopelessness she felt. The cycle of life was weighing her down. She wanted..No she needed a change. She needed it now!

Day after day she went in and out among her brethren but they offered no alternative. Worship was empty. The idols of wealth and the allure of money did not fill the longing that was inside. Her beauty drew men to her. There company brought no pleasure. Her soul ached for escape.

“How can I escape this cycle?” she thought.

There was no answer so she continued to sit on the wall. She continued to gaze out at the horizon. Her prayers to the universe yielded no answer. Her gods brought no solution. There was only silence. They never spoke a comforting word; only frowned.

Then one day she heard whispers. People were panicking. She saw the fear in their eyes. Many scurried around. Soldiers ran to their post on the wall.

“What is it?” She asked. “What is happening?”

“Have you not heard there are people of power coming our way. Their God dried up the overflowing waters of Jordan and allowed them to walk through on dry land. Our spies report that their God destroyed the Egyptian army. He toppled the great Egyptian empire. They are now in the worst recession of their lifetime. The great empire has crumbled at His wrath. No nation has been able to stand against them. We have never beheld such wonders, such power. We have prayed to our gods but they have not done anything. They are advancing on us, even now.”

Panic spread throughout the streets.

The walls of her heart surrendered.

“Surely this God must be able to help me”, in her heart she pondered

“Is this my answer? Is this my change?”

In that moment, her loyalty changed. She knew she could not continue to be loyal to a system that kept her bound. Her leaders provided no help. No redemption. No solution.  They were contented to make her feel welcomed among them. All they wanted her to do was to continue giving her contributions to the city coffers. Their curt assurances only silently echoed these sentiments:

“Once a harlot, always a harlot. Just accept who you are. You are perfect. Yet it provided no salve for her pain.”

The messengers came in the cover of the night. They hid their faces as men often do when they came in to her.  She was not bothered by it. She gladly accepted them.

“At least there will be a little companionship tonight.” She consoled herself.

“We have not come for your services. We came on business for the King. We have come to take the Land. Our God, Jehovah, has promised us this land.”

Then they begun telling her about the works of their God.

Her heart warmed. Fire entered her heart. Peace flooded her. Finally, her prayers were answered! The changed she dared to hope for was finally here. Desperate to grab this lifeline of hope she forsook her countrymen. She pleaded that herself and her family be saved.

Jehovah answered her prayers. Not only was she saved but her entire household also. He then immortalized her name. She would forever be remembered for her kindness but most importantly her renewed bloodline would be encoded in the strands of the Messiah’s DNA. Shame was replaced by fame.

“I gave Israel Jesse. From Jesse came the Son of the Living God.”

Isaiah 11:1

There shall come forth a Rod from the stem of Jesse,
And a Branch shall grow out of his roots. .

If you listen carefully you will hear Rahab crying. She cries to the forsaken, the downtrodden, the rejected, the scorned, the lost. Her voice echoes loudly:

“I am among the first of the children who were far, very far, from the Redeemer’s love. I thought I was not worth saving. No good. Lost. Unwanted. But He heard me. He drew me. He pulled me to Him. He washed me with His blood.

I am no longer my past. No longer a stranger to His love. I believed on Him and was redeemed. He made my name great!

I dared to let the blood wash my household. Destruction was all around me but I and my household were saved.

Yesterday a ribbon was my symbol of hope. It was my acknowledgement of the promise of power of the blood of Jesus Christ to save. To wash and make whole. You only need to acknowledge God’s work on the cross.

Will you? Will you?” Rahab cries.

One thought on “Rahab’s Cry

  1. Reblogged this on Revealing the Christian Life and commented:
    If you listen carefully you will hear Rahab crying. She cries to the forsaken, the downtrodden, the rejected, the scorned, the lost. Her voice echoes louldly:
    I am among the first of the children who were far removed from the Redeemers love. I thought I was not work saving. No good. Lost. Unwanted. But He heard me. He drew me. He pulled me to Him. He washed me with His blood.
    I am no longer my past. No longer a stranger to His love. I believed on Him and was redeemed. I dared to let the blood wash my household. Destruction was all around me but I and my household were saved.
    Yesterday I used a ribbon to signify the power of the blood to save. You only need to acknowledge God’s work on the cross.
    “Will you? Will you? Rahab cries.

    Like

Leave a Reply

