Impenetrable Shield, Part 1B

Previous Article: Impenetrable Shield, Part 1A

12 For we do not wrestle against flesh and blood, but against principalities, against powers, against the rulers of the darkness of this age, against spiritual hosts of wickedness in the heavenly places.

13 Therefore take up the whole armor of God, that you may be able to withstand in the evil day, and having done all, to stand.

14 Stand therefore, having girded your waist with truth, having put on the breastplate of righteousness, 15 and having shod your feet with the preparation of the gospel of peace; 16 above all, taking the shield of faith with which you will be able to quench all the fiery darts of the wicked one. 17 And take the helmet of salvation, and the sword of the Spirit, which is the word of God; 18 praying always with all prayer and supplication in the Spirit, being watchful to this end with all perseverance and supplication for all the saints.

Ephesians 6: 12 -18 (NKJV)

Contend For the Faith

To grow from weak faith to great faith God must take us through processes that teaches us to ignore the situations and circumstances around us and rest in his promise.  Each process is a ladder that builds our endurance and patience.  These are necessary manifestations of the fruit of the Holy Spirit, that shows His indwelling love in us (1 Corinthians 13:4-7; Galatians 5:22).  Can you imagine what Noah endured for at least 100 years while building the ark? Let your mind reflect for a moment on the ridicule and harassment this prophet endured while he built the Ark.  He was building an Ark in a time when it never rained before on earth.  He was also unknowingly prophesied of the coming salvation of Jesus Christ?  Having endured and survived the flood he was unmoved in his faith towards the promises of God. (Genesis 5:32;6-7:6; Hebrews 11:7; Matthew 24:37-39)

I learnt to trust God and to believe what He said after he taught me to completely depend on Him.  I was stripped of everything and had to be obedient to the voice of God to receive daily sustenance.  I am talking house, money, car, possessions – everything –  being taken from me.  I survived by Him sending people to feed me and to provide me with money, when necessary.  I had to believe the scriptures to walk in divine health.  There were times when sickness would attempt to come on me and I would rebuke it and it left.  At other times, I had to go to God directly for Him to take it from me. This happened during the first week of December 2014 when I caught a bad cold from the winter temperature. I did not take proper precaution to be adequately clothed and so got very ill.  No matter how I commanded the sickness to leave my body, however, it just got worse.  Finally after battling with it many days I asked the Lord what was wrong.  He then told me that He allowed me to have that experience so that I would remember to take adequate precaution next time.  Before I got up from my knees I was healed.  During the entire time I was ill I never once took medication.  It has been over 4 years since the Lord has been sustaining me and I have never gone to a doctor.  At other times when flu symptoms came on me I rebuked it and was instantly healed.  Having received healing from Him, my faith was strengthened. It gave me the confidence to pray for others, knowing God would heal them.

Faith in God also allowed me to communicate supernaturally in Mandarin to a native Chinese person in September 2012.  The following Sunday, while assisting with altar call at a church, the Lord had me call an Asian woman.  When she stood before me I began speaking to her in her native language.  The shock and awe on her face and tears of joy were sufficient that indicate that she understood every word that was spoken.  I also understood every word spoken.  It was the first time I ever spoke that language.  I had never visited any countries in Asia before or attempted to learn any of the language.  I later learnt from the Holy Spirit the language was Cantonese.  This is a dimension that obedience to the leading of the Lord opened in the the gift of diversity of tongues, just as it occurred on the day of Pentecost (Acts 2:4-12)

Before we can believe we must first hear the Word of God.  Faith comes by hearing and hearing comes by the word of God (Romans 10:17).  The word is available to us in the written and spoken (greek, rhema) forms.  The Bible is the written form of the word of God and is our primary source of His communication to us.   To grow in faith, we must meditate on the Word of God.  It will allow us to remember his promises when the challenges come.  If God sends his word through a messenger or speaks directly to you.  The same must be done.  Once the word does not contradict the written word of God, we must receive it with joy and hold onto it like a man who finds a rare and precious metal.  We may also receive it with faith, as a little child would receive a promise.  He/She would believe with all their heart and earnestly look forward to the moment it is fulfilled.

We must meditate on what we believe daily to ensure that it is not snatched from us.

Be sober, be vigilant; because your adversary the devil walks about like a roaring lion, seeking whom he may devour. (1 Peter 5:8)

We are devoured when we enter into doubt, fear, wavering and unbelief.  If we confess the word of God we will maintain our shield of faith.  And the enemy will flee from us.

Therefore submit to God. Resist the devil and he will flee from you (James 4:7).

This Book of the Law shall not depart from your mouth, but you shall meditate in it day and night, that you may observe to do according to all that is written in it. For then you will make your way prosperous, and then you will have good success. (Joshua 1:8)

Reinforcing the Shield

Sometimes when our faith is weak God equips us with supernatural faith.  This is a gift from the Holy Spirit.  It normally allows us to accomplish great feats, such as the working of miracles or performing significant acts.  However, that is not meant to sustain us.  It only gives us a growth spirit in our faith.  For our shield to be sustained we must be unwavering in our faith in the word of God.

I encourage you to search the scriptures and learn what promises God made for health, finances, relationships, marriage, and every area of your life.  Study them, meditate and and confess them regularly.  This embeds the Word of God in our heart.  When this is done we will reinforce our shield of faith in preparation for the times of testing.

Let us hold fast the profession of our faith without wavering; (for he is faithful that promised;) (Hebrews 10:23)

Armour of God Series

Your Utility Belt, Part 1A
Your Utility Belt, Part 1B
Bullet-proof Vest
Slamming Shoes
Impenetrable Shield, Part 1A
Impenetrable Shield, Part 1B
Wide-Brimmed Hat
Flaming Sword

4 Comments Add yours

Leave a Reply

