He’s Not Here

“Do not sing. I am not here.”

The voice startled me. It stopped me in the middle of singing. The euphoria I was experiencing from the piped organs, the harmony of the choristers and singing of the hymns fled from me. For a few seconds, I wrestled with what I heard. I wanted to deny what I had just heard.

“Did the Lord just speak to me?” I asked myself. I knew the answer but did not want to readily accept it. Everything sounded good to my ears. Yes I did not feel the presence of God here.

I was worshiping at a traditional church but I knew the denomination didn’t matter. The Lord had sent me to worship at one for a year. Every time I song with the choir I felt the presence of God.

There was no denying the current reality. He was not accepting the praise. His presence was not only absent but he had decided to close His ears.

This incident occurred during a season when the Lord sent me to a friend’s house to provide help. She had received a major health scare and was recovering, so I was sent to provide spiritual and physical help.

That Christmas day I attended with her because I was overjoyed that she was finally able to go to church. The prospect also intrigued me. I grew up in that denomination. The opportunity to sing the the classical Christmas chorals, especially the Hallelujah Chorus, was welcomed. I do not participate in gift giving or putting up a Christmas tree. What I love are the songs of praise to Jesus Christ.

Now imagine my surprise when God shut me down. It saddened me. The church was well decorated with Christmas ornaments. The program was well planned. Everything was being executed with great precision but He, the One who mattered, the One who was being celebrated, was NOT ACCEPTING THE PRAISE.

When I asked the Lord why, He said they had strayed from the faith. They had embraced same-sex marriage and the ordination of people who lived lifestyles contrary to his word.

God Has Left the Building

I am reminded of another experience when I visited a church to help serve the homeless. After we had finished assisting the people, I was shown around the sanctuary. It was splendidly designed. Everything reminiscent of its glory days were still present. The elaborate masonry of the furniture was a bit dull and unpolished but the splendor of the design shun through.

Sadly only a small section of the church was being used. Most of the people had left. The youths were no longer attending. God was not sending anyone to the church. I anticipated that in a few years it would be closed.

As I stood in the sanctuary I felt the cold embrace of death. The church was dying. In my spirit I felt like I was gasping my final breath. A great sorrow overtook me. I hurriedly fought back the tears. Thankfully my host left me in the room. The moment he left, I allowed the tears to flow. My heart ached for God’s people.

The Lord made me aware that the angel assigned to the church was weeping. He was lamenting its demise. The glory had departed. The Lord’s presence was absent.

Take Heed

That Christmas day I felt something entirely different at my friends place of worship. It was the anger of God. He was not pleased with the worship. They had mixed the holy with the unholy. The Christmas hymns sounded good but He was not accepting the profaned sacrifice of praise.

 

When we give heed to humanistic reasoning about love we are playing with live wires. God is love, mercy and judgement. We must never forget that He is also holy. It means He is “set apart”. To serve him we must be separated from the world. We must sanctify our selves by acting in obedience to his word.

He has told you, O man, what is good; And what does the Lord require of you Except to be just, and to love [and to diligently practice] kindness (compassion), And to walk humbly with your God [setting aside any overblown sense of importance or self-righteousness]?   Micah 6:8 AMP

Yes, we are to do good! We must firstly love God. We must secondly love our neighbors, as we love ourselves but we must live in conformity to his word.

But He said, “On the contrary, blessed (happy, favored by God) are those who hear the word of God and continually observe it.”  Luke 11:28

“If you [really] love Me, you will keep and obey My commandments.  John 14:15

I have examined the doctrines of some of the churches that embrace same sex marriage and have found that they do not embrace the tenets of the Bible. All that we are presented with are human reasoning. Mixed in with philosophy, new age beliefs and a potpourri of beliefs from other religions. This should not be so.

It is imperative that we decide whom we serve. We are commissioned to go to non-Christians and make them disciples. For them to be disciples they must be taught to live in conformity to the Word of God.

 Jesus came up and said to them, “All authority (all power of absolute rule) in heaven and on earth has been given to Me. Go therefore and make disciples of all the nations [help the people to learn of Me, believe in Me, and obey My words], baptizing them in the name of the Father and of the Son and of the Holy Spirit, teaching them to observe everything that I have commanded you; and lo, I am with you always[remaining with you perpetually—regardless of circumstance, and on every occasion], even to the end of the age.” Matthew 28:18-20 AMP

Living in conformance to His will, as conveyed in his word is an expression of our love for our Lord and Savior Jesus Christ. It is unacceptable to embrace persons who have professed belief in him but are unwilling to change. God calls us to come to Him as we are. However, we must be willing to change. We must be willing undergo the discomfort of change. No matter how arduous the process, there must be willingness and effort to change.

How can a young man keep his way pure? By keeping watch [on himself] according to Your word [conforming his life to Your precepts]. With all my heart I have sought You, [inquiring of You and longing for You]; Do not let me wander from Your commandments [neither through ignorance nor by willful disobedience]. Your word I have treasured and stored in my heart, That I may not sin against You.  Psalm 119:9-11

Call to Arms

Saints we must continue to pray against the influence of Satan over these churches.

Some operate under the illusion that it is acceptable by God to do whatever is necessary to make people ‘feel’ comfortable. It is sad that only external comfort is given. Some congregants are perishing inside. Their soul is lost, while they are being feted to ensure that the numbers of congregants are maintained or increased.

It is important that we speak out about the issue but we must never forget to pray. We must pray for those that have been blinded by the enemy. Their soul matter. God takes no pleasure in their spiritual death. Pray that the Lord will restore His bride. Let us not cease to pray until there is change.

Say to them, ‘As I live,’ says the Lord God, ‘I take no pleasure in the death of the wicked, but rather that the wicked turn from his way and live. Turn back (change your way of thinking), turn back [in repentance] from your evil ways! For why should you die, O house of Israel?’  Ezekiel 33:11

Selah.

 

This is a related article about the dangers of the doctrine of inclusion. It was birthed after an open vision, I experienced while viewing a church’s participation in a Gay Pride parade. Be careful of the doctrine of inclusion.

One thought on “He’s Not Here

Leave a Reply

