Faithful God

A few years ago I attended a Bible Study at a church in Long Island, New York. The Elder leading the Bible study informed us that we must put God in remembrance of His word to receive what we are expecting of Him. He gave this as a formula for receiving what we wanted instead of waiting a very long time for what we were expecting from Him. It sounded like a solid formula to me. It seemed appropriate for my situation. My walk with the Lord was just beginning and I was not liking being sent to cold, cold New York. It was my first winter and it was unbearable. I was sure that with this formula everything would quickly fall in place. God had to act quickly to fulfill His promise! He had to grant my laundry list of demands.

I just had to back up my request with a scripture or two to remind Him. Surely He needed the help. He is the ancient of days, so I just needed to bring him into remembrance of His word. Without knowing it, I didn’t understand that it would grant me an opportunity to counsel God.

Despite the counsel of the Elder, I never implemented my plan. Something within stopped me. Somehow I felt it would be wrong. From the day I heard his audible voice it left fear of Him in me. It shook me to the core that day. From that day I learnt that God had a plan for me that I had to walk out. Taking any shortcut or by-passes never seem like an option.

It has been four years since then. My life has been radically changed. God revealed his glory and power to me. I have met many wonderful people and have endured much suffering. Through it all I have learnt to be content with little and not moved by much. All this was His process of training and building my character. When I lost hope He would remind me of His promise, until I learnt to encourage myself.

My journey is finally coming to an end. But it has been worth it. God has been faithful to His word. He told me I would be settle in Georgia but I did not know how. When the time came for the fulfillment of His word, He moved me unceremoniously. Then He begun to shift people to fulfill His word. In the midst of crises, tests, trials, abandonment, rejection, hurts, betrayals, uses and abuses, He was with me. He kept His promise. Last month, I went to New York to retrieve the my stuff and help the family move. As we went through the process God showed why he provided 2000 Dodge Durango in January 2016. We did not know it but it was part of his plan to relocate us. Later that year He sent me to Florida. Before I left He told me that I my final stop was in Georgia but I had other places to stop first.

He then moved people, situations to get us to the place He wanted us. At the time He planned. Eveyrthing was factored. Our missteps, delays, times of stagnancy, The missteps, the delays, the stops, the disruptions, interference from family and friends who did not see the plan of God, were all part of the process of God allowed his word to be tested. The meddling of people in our life had gotten so bad that I had to stop speaking to people I loved. Just to maintain my peace of mind. Little did I know it was God allowing His word to go through the ‘valley of the shadow of death’ before He revealed His hand.

Covenant Keeper

Please never forget this. Don’t ever, ever forget that God is faithful to His word. When He said in Isaiah verse 11, ‘so shall My word be that goes forth from My mouth; It shall not return to Me void, but it shall accomplish what I please, and it shall prosper in the thing for which I sent it’When He makes a promise it will be fulfilled.

He is so confident of his word that he allows it to be tested by the enemy, time, situation, circumstances. He sets a place, date and time for it to be fulfilled. When we in the place of the promise we will receive it. As we journey He will periodically provide us with a word to keep us encouraged. He did this to fulfill his covenant with Abraham. When His father dwelt in Luz God told him to leave. He journeyed to Haran. His son died in this land and he stopped moving. So God appeared to Abram. He told him to walk through the land of Canaan. As He walked God appeared to him at pivotal times and gave him further details of His covenant. A seal of the covenant was his name change to Abraham and the circumcision of all males, eight days and older. The prophetic act of walking through the land, gave him spiritual authority over it. It also cemented the promise of God that his future generations would inherit the land. God did not leave him second guessing how it would happen. He told him how they would claim the land 600 years after his death.

God told Abraham that his people would enter Egypt and would be a slave there for over 400 years. They would be slaves there. In the midst of the affliction God would make them a mighty nation. He would judge their oppressors and take them out by a mighty hand to the land that He promised Abraham to give to His seed.

We know that God kept His word. His promise was fulfilled. The descendants of Abraham did enter the land. They still live in the land to this day.

Faithful to His Word

God is truth. He there is no changing or turning from his word. Whatever he promises he will fulfill. He is so serious about his commitment that every promise he has made to is dependent on a binary response. ‘Yes’ and ‘amen’. Amen means it is done.

Why We Do Not Receive

  1. Our desire is selfish James 4:3
  2. We are not His. Psalm 66:18
    If I regard wickedness in my heart, The Lord will not hear;
  3. There is a time and place to receive the promise – often must wait

Before we can receive the promises there is one caveat it is in Christ. We do not get what he has without first coming through Him. Throughout the Bible there are a plethora of promises that he makes to us but they are contingent on our obedience. We must first surrender to His Lordship, then we may inherit the promise.

Even then, it is not immediately that we will receive the promises. God allows us to mature in our character and stewardship before they are released. He is not interested in fulfilling our promise because we simply have needs that must be satisfied. Yes he will meet our needs but we will only see a trickle of what is promised if we are only interested in fulfilling our own selfish desires.

You ask [God for something] and do not receive it, because you ask [a]with wrong motives [out of selfishness or with an unrighteous agenda], so that [when you get what you want] you may spend it on your [hedonistic] desires.

James 4:3

 

Leave a Reply

